One More

Hang on. Just one more second. And then one more. Just one more minute. Then twenty. One more hour. And then two.

My life has been homecoming after homecoming. The grief, the sadness, the hopelessness of the world sitting right there on my shoulders. And I waited. Just one more second. And then one more. And I look back on all the times I couldn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel, and I took another breath. And I woke up with sun seeping through my window.
Light when there was so much darkness.

I know what it feels like to have nothing left to give.
I know what shame and fear and hopelessness can do to a heart.
And I know what another day feels like. Not by my will, but God’s. That I waited just one more second.

And I woke up and drank warm coffee and felt the sun on my face and I was thankful for that one more.

I know what shame and fear and hopelessness can do to a heart, but I know that one more breath can do more. One more breath is another chance. It’s forgiveness. It’s grace. It’s hope. It covers the shame and the fear and the hopelessness.
It says, even when you have nothing left to give, God does.

So just hang on with me for one more second. And then two more. And our lives can together be homecoming after homecoming, making our way back from the darkness. Lives of little victories and strong faith that manifested within one more. Just one more second. One more minute. One more hour. And then the rising.

Leave a Reply

